Welcome
Welcome

Welcome

Hi! I’m Charles Crabtree. I'm an Assistant Professor in the Department of Government at Dartmouth College, Director of the Fundamental Needs Lab, and Co-Director of the Baltic LEAP foreign study program.
I research intergroup relations and conflict. In the past, I’ve studied discrimination based on gender, ethnicity, nativity, or race. Moving forward, I’m primarily focused on studying class-based discrimination. Growing up poor - without a home and then in a trailer park - taught me much about the role of class and money in politics and society.
Most of my work uses field or survey experiments and has focused on the United States or Japan but is increasingly expansive geographically, with new projects in Eastern Europe, India, and South America. Sometimes, I write about methodological issues related to experiments or measurement.
My research has been published or is forthcoming in over 30 journals or volumes, including the American Journal of Political Science, the American Political Science Review, the British Journal of Political Science (2), the Journal of Politics (2), Nature Human BehaviorPolitical Analysis, and the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (2). This work has been covered by many media sources, such as National Public Radio's All Things Considered, Forbes, The Asahi ShimbunThe AtlanticThe Economist, The GuardianThe Huffington PostThe Washington Post, and Yahoo! News. It has also been cited in many policy documents, including U.S. House of Representatives testimony and State Department reports. I’m grateful to acknowledge funding from the American Political Science Association, Swedish Research Council, the Tokyo Foundation for Policy Research, and the Research Council of Norway.
In addition to my primary appointment in Dartmouth’s Department of Government, I’m affiliate faculty in the Department of Eastern European, Eurasian, and Russian Studies, the Department of Sociology, the Program in Social Science, the Program in Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies, and the Arthur L. Irving Institute.
Before attending graduate school, I worked as a congressional staffer, policy researcher, photojournalist, English teacher in Belarus, tree farm hand, and designer, among many other things.
I enjoy cooking, photography (the header photos are from my travels), and spending time with family and friends. I particularly like traveling, especially around Japan, and exploring colleges and university campuses worldwide. 👇